Power of the Pen

Congratulations to the Tiffin Middle School Power of the Pen Team for a great showing at their district competition! Eleven area schools with approximately 100 student writers participated. The event was held at and hosted by Tiffin Middle School on January 26th.

Our seventh-grade competitive team members were Miranda Fanning, Ariana Hines, Eva Kerschner, Mary Kidwell, Kenna Thompson, and Leila Williams. Mary Kidwell won first place in the individual awards, as well as two of the three Best of Round awards. The seventh-grade team placed fourth overall. Mary, Kenna, and Leila all qualified to compete at regionals.

Katherine Albright, Ava Hines, Courtney Miller, Charlie Noftz, Connor Schrenk, and Michael Tucker were our eighth-grade competitive writers. Ava Hines placed eleventh in the individual awards. Katherine Albright placed sixth and won the Best of Round Award in the third round of writing. The eighth-grade team placed third overall. Katherine, Ava, and Michael have all qualified to compete at regionals. Eighth-graders Lacey Gibson, McKenna Mathias, and Ivy Morlock participated as shadow writers for comments only. Evin Conn, Andellow Losey, Angel Smith, and Kylee Thom were runners for the event.

The team’s next competition will be on March 6 at Lourdes University in Sylvania.